Login Access & Permissions

How do I add a team member?
  1. On the Multitudes app, click the Settings menu item on the sidebar. If this is not available, it means you don't have permissions to edit team settings. Contact a Manager or Owner to change your permissions, or for them to invite the team member instead.
  2. Click on the Invite users + button and choose whether you’d like to add them them as a Contributor or Viewer.
    - Choose Contributor if you want to be able to see their data in our insights (good for team members). You can also give them app access.
    - Choose Viewer if you only want them to get app access, without their data being included (good for managers who don’t use GitHub very much)
  3. Add people’s email addresses to give them app access. They will be invited with the Member permission by default, but you can change this in Settings once they have logged in. See this section below for more information on permissions.
  4. If you have already added someone as a Contributor (so we can see their data), but they have No Access to the Multitudes app, you can click on the drop down in the Permissions column and select from Member, Manager or Owner to give them access to Multitudes.
What is the difference between "Data Inclusion" and "Permissions" on the Team Settings Page?

Data inclusion controls whose data you see.

  • If you’re a Viewer, your data is not included in our insights but you do have access to Multitudes. This is commonly used by managers who are not very active on GitHub, but would still like to view their team’s data.
  • If you’re a Contributor, your data is included in our insights.
  • Billing is determined by the number of contributors, i.e. the number of people whose data we are processing and showing.

Permissions controls who can log in, view, and edit things in Multitudes. Here is a table of which permission roles can do what.

A table showing the access that various permission roles have.  "No access" means they have no access to do anything on the app. "Member" roles can log in, view insights, view their own 1:1, and edit team settings. "Manger" roles can do everything "Member" can, plus add direct reports & view their 1:1s. "Owner" roles can do everything a "Manager" can, and also edit permissions and billing.

We encourage all Contributors to have at least some access permissions (Member, Manager, or Owner). This is so that the people whose data is being shared also have access to their own data. Ideally, no one should have “No Access”. This option is available to allow managers to get set up and familiar with Multitudes before inviting their team in.

Here are our recommended settings:

A table showing recommended setting combinations for for data inclusion and permissions.

There are four permissions - no access, member, manager, and owner.
There are two data inclusion levels - viewer (data not included), and contributor (data included).

If a user has no access, then they can't be a viewer - by definition, Viewers are always able to "view" the app. If they are a contributor, ⚠️ People should only be in this category during setup, when a manager first adds team members to Multitudes. The manager should then invite everyone via email to log in by changing their permissions from “No Access” to “Member”.

Member + Viewer is uncommon.
Member + Contributor is recommended for team members.

Manager + Viewer is recommended for managers who are not active on GitHub.

Manager + Contributor is recommended for managers who are active on GitHub.

Owner + Viewer is recommended for managers who are not active on GitHub and want to be able to edit permissions and billing.

Owner + Contributor is recommended for managers who are active on GitHub and want to be able to edit permissions and billing.
How do I give team members login access to Multitudes?

Give a team member login access by sending them an email invite link from the Settings page (see this 1-minute video at 0:25).

  1. Click a "No Access" team member’s dropdown on the “Permission” column.
  2. Change them to a different permission role. We recommend "Member" for team members, and "Manager" or "Owner" for team leads and managers.
  3. Add the team member’s email address and click “Update Permissions”. This will send them an email with the invite link. Once the modal closes, you should see a yellow “Invite Pending” tag next to their name.

The invite will expire after 7 days. You can resend the invite by clicking the “...” menu on the right of the team member’s row, and selecting “Resend Invite”.

Can’t find what you are looking for?
Contact us